Skip to content
87 products · 5 categories · 4 platforms
LaunchFaro

Alternatives

Alternatives to Notion

Notion: Docs, wikis and databases in one workspace, with an AI layer on top.

Products in the same category (Note-taking apps) that can replace Notion. Order is alphabetical, not a ranking.

View product page

AI-assisted draft, not yet reviewed by a named person

Written by LaunchFaro editorial (AI-assisted draft) on Oct 13, 2026. Every claim cites a source below, but no named editor has checked this guide yet, so treat it as a starting point and confirm prices and limits on the vendor page before you decide.

The short answer

Pick by the reason you are leaving. Obsidian suits private, offline notes kept as plain files. AppFlowy is the open-source, self-hostable workspace closest to Notion's page-and-database shape. Anytype is local-first with import from Notion. Coda is a team doc-and-table alternative. Logseq and Joplin cover outliner and classic notebook styles. Every move costs something: Notion's Markdown export drops database structure.

Which one fits which need

One pick per need. These are matches to a need, not a ranking.

  • Private notes that work offline

    Obsidian

    Notes stay as local files on your device and the app is free for any use, so nothing depends on a vendor server unless you buy Sync.[5][7]

  • Open source and self-hostable workspace

    AppFlowy

    The app and its cloud server repository are published under AGPL-3.0, and the vendor pricing page offers a self-hosted route next to its hosted plans.[8][9]

  • Local-first with a Notion import path

    Anytype

    The vendor describes it as local-first and offline-capable and says Notion content can be imported.[10]

  • Team docs with relational tables

    Coda

    It combines documents with linked tables, formulas and automations, which is the part of Notion teams use databases for.[11]

  • Outliner-style personal knowledge base

    Logseq

    Open-source, local-first notes stored as Markdown or Org files suit people who think in bullets and links.[14][16]

  • Classic notebooks with optional paid sync

    Joplin

    The apps are free and sync through Joplin Cloud or a self-hosted server, with import for Markdown and Evernote exports.[12][13]

What you may be solving for

If the issue is offline reliability

Notion does offer offline pages, but only in the desktop and mobile apps, not in a browser, and a downloaded database brings only the first 50 rows of its first view. Embeds, forms and buttons need a connection, and two people editing the same select property offline can lose one change.

File-based tools sidestep that. Obsidian and Logseq keep notes on your device, and Joplin keeps a local copy and syncs on top. The price of that design is that shared, permissioned team spaces become your own job or an add-on.[4][7][12][14]

If the issue is cost for a team

Notion's pricing page listed Free at $0, Plus at $10 and Business at $20 per member per month when read on 13 October 2026, and says yearly billing saves up to 20% without showing the yearly figure. The Free plan allows 10 guests and 5 MB per uploaded file, and block counts become limited once a workspace has two or more members; the cap itself is not stated.

AppFlowy's Pro tier was $16 per member per month billed annually or $20 monthly, with guest editors described as free in its FAQ. That is cheaper only at annual billing, so compare on your seat count rather than assuming. Coda states it does not charge per seat but showed no figures on the page read, so its cost could not be compared.[1][8][11]

If the issue is vendor lock-in or privacy

Obsidian's licence page says data is saved locally and not sent to its servers, while Sync is end-to-end encrypted and Publish is hosted. Anytype is described by its vendor as local-first. Open-source options (AppFlowy, Logseq, Joplin) let you inspect or self-host the code.

Open source is not the same as portable: Notion's workspace export cannot be re-uploaded to recreate the workspace, so any move is a conversion, not a restore.[2][7][9][10][16][15]

If you mainly want a personal notebook

Many individuals use Notion as a notebook and never touch relations or rollups. For that use, the database features are overhead, and a notes-first tool with fast capture is a closer fit. Notion's Free plan lists unlimited blocks for an individual, so cost alone may not be the reason to leave.

Joplin imports and exports Markdown, and Obsidian stores notes as local files, so either keeps your text readable outside the app.[1][3][12][13][7]

Side by side

Every value cites the source it was read from. Not verified means no primary source confirmed it.

  • Notion

    Subject of this guide

    Paid entry price
    Free $0; Plus $10 and Business $20 per member per month[1]
    Open source
    Not stated as open source[1]

    No open-source claim on the pricing page; licence not researched.

    Offline and storage
    Cloud workspace; offline pages in desktop/mobile apps only[4]
    Bringing Notion content in
    Source product; exports Markdown, CSV, HTML, PDF[2]
  • Obsidian

    Paid entry price
    App free for any use; Sync from $4 per user per month annual[5]
    Open source
    No; proprietary app, free to use[7]

    Licence page says the company owns its app content; it does not use the word proprietary.

    Offline and storage
    Notes saved locally on your device[7]
    Bringing Notion content in
    Importer plugin: API (keeps databases as Bases) or HTML zip[6]
  • AppFlowy

    Paid entry price
    Personal $0; Pro $16 per member per month annual, $20 monthly[8]
    Open source
    Yes, AGPL-3.0[9]
    Offline and storage
    Not verified

    Offline behaviour not verified.

    Bringing Notion content in
    Not verified

    Importer not verified on pages read.

  • Anytype

    Paid entry price
    Plus $4, Pro $8, Ultra $16 per month; Free tier[10]
    Open source
    Not verified

    Licence not read in this guide; see product record.

    Offline and storage
    Described as local-first and offline[10]
    Bringing Notion content in
    Vendor says Notion and Markdown can be imported[10]
  • Coda

    Paid entry price
    Not verified

    Pricing page redirected and returned no figures.

    Open source
    Not verified

    Not stated on page read; assumed proprietary but not verified.

    Offline and storage
    Not verified

    Offline behaviour not verified.

    Bringing Notion content in
    Not verified

    Importer not verified.

  • Logseq

    Paid entry price
    Not verified

    Paid sync pricing not read.

    Open source
    Yes, AGPL-3.0[16]
    Offline and storage
    Local-first; Markdown or Org files[14]
    Bringing Notion content in
    Not verified

    Notion import not verified.

  • Joplin

    Paid entry price
    App free; Joplin Cloud from 2.99 EUR per month[12]
    Open source
    Open source; GitHub reports no single licence[15]

    Mixed licensing across packages; no SPDX id returned by the GitHub API.

    Offline and storage
    Local notes with Joplin Cloud sync or self-hosted server[12]
    Bringing Notion content in
    No Notion import listed; Markdown and HTML import[13]

    Import page does not mention Notion.

Profiles

What each option is good for, what it costs you, and what happens to your data when you move.

Obsidian[5][6][7]

Best for
Individuals who want notes as plain files on their own device and are comfortable assembling structure themselves.

What you give up

  • No built-in shared workspace with page permissions like Notion; collaboration needs the paid Sync shared-vault feature.
  • Notion databases only survive well through the API importer, which turns them into Obsidian Bases and imports only the primary view.

Pricing and limits

App free including commercial use per its pricing page; Sync $4 per user per month billed annually or $5 monthly; Publish $8 per site per month annual.[5]

Restrictions that change the answer

  • A $50 per user per year commercial licence is offered but described as optional support.

Moving from Notion

Use the Importer plugin. The API route keeps databases as Bases but needs internet and is slow on large workspaces; the zip route works offline but does not keep databases. The Obsidian page says to export HTML, not Markdown, for the zip route.[6]

Product page: Obsidian

AppFlowy[8][9]

Best for
Teams and individuals who want a Notion-shaped workspace with open code and a self-hosting route.

What you give up

  • Free Personal plan has one workspace owner, 100 MB storage and 7 MB uploads, so it is a personal tier, not a free team tier.
  • Offline behaviour, importers and mobile apps could not be verified in this guide.

Pricing and limits

Personal $0; Pro $16 per member per month billed annually, $20 monthly, per the pricing page on 13 October 2026.[8]

Restrictions that change the answer

  • Cancelling Pro moves the workspace to Personal immediately, which may restrict usage above the free limits.

Moving from Notion

A migration route was not verified from a primary source.

Product page: AppFlowy

Anytype[10]

Best for
People who want local-first storage and encryption-minded sync with a stated Notion import route.

What you give up

  • Free tier gives 100 MB remote storage and 10 shared channels, which constrains heavy file use or larger groups.
  • Its licence is source-available according to the product record, not an OSI open-source licence; this guide did not re-read it.

Pricing and limits

Free tier; Plus $4, Pro $8 and Ultra $16 per month on the monthly view, with remote storage of 1 GB, 10 GB and 100 GB.[10]

Restrictions that change the answer

  • Free tier: 100 MB remote storage.

Moving from Notion

The vendor says Notion content can be imported, but the page read did not describe what carries over, so database fidelity is unknown.[10]

Product page: Anytype

Coda[11]

Best for
Teams that use Notion mainly for linked tables and workflow logic and want formulas, buttons and automations.

What you give up

  • Pricing could not be read, so cost cannot be compared; the vendor claims it does not price per seat.
  • It is a closed cloud product now branded Superhuman Docs, so it does not address lock-in.

Pricing and limits

Pricing was not verified from a primary source.

Moving from Notion

A migration route was not verified from a primary source.

Product page: Coda

Logseq[14][16]

Best for
People who write in outlines and want open-source, local Markdown or Org files.

What you give up

  • Outliner structure is a different model from Notion pages, so imported long-form pages may feel awkward.
  • No team workspace or database views were verified.

Pricing and limits

Pricing was not verified from a primary source.

Moving from Notion

A migration route was not verified from a primary source.

Product page: Logseq

Joplin[12][13][15]

Best for
Individuals who want an open-source, Markdown-friendly notebook with choice of sync, including self-hosting.

What you give up

  • No databases or relational views; moving from Notion means CSV tables become plain files.
  • Self-hosted Joplin Server Business is priced per user and aimed at organisations.

Pricing and limits

Apps free; Joplin Cloud Basic 2.99 EUR, Pro 5.99 EUR, Pro 100 GB 9.99 EUR per month, Teams 7.99 EUR per user (minimum two users); yearly billing lower.[12]

Restrictions that change the answer

  • Basic: 10 MB per note, 2 GB storage; no sharing.

Moving from Notion

Import Markdown files or directories, HTML and ENEX; the import page does not mention Notion, so use a Markdown or HTML export from Notion and expect database structure to flatten.[13]

Product page: Joplin

Moving out of Notion: what leaves with you

Ways to export from Notion

  • Per-page export to PDF, HTML or Markdown and CSV; full-page databases export as a CSV with Markdown files for each subpage, and callouts export as HTML.[2]
  • Workspace export from Settings under General, as HTML or Markdown with databases as CSV and uploaded files; the download link expires after 7 days and processing can take up to 30 hours. Other members' private pages are excluded.[2]
  • Database exports cover only the current or default view, not every view. The export page does not say how relations, formulas or rollups appear in the files.[2]

Treat the export as a conversion, not a backup you can restore. Notion says the workspace export cannot be re-uploaded to recreate the workspace, so keep your Notion workspace until you have checked the new home.

For Obsidian, follow its own page: export the whole workspace as HTML with subpage folders, or use the API route to keep databases as Bases. Large exports can arrive as nested zips, and the importer lists unsupported items such as linked data sources.

Coming into Notion from elsewhere is documented too: it imports Markdown, CSV, HTML, Word, Google Docs and Evernote, but the import page does not mention OneNote or Obsidian. CSV imports cannot create rollups, formulas or relations, so a round trip through files loses them.

Watch out for

  • A workspace export needs the right permissions; workspaces can disable export in security settings, and guests need full access to export a page.
  • On Windows, long export paths over 260 characters may fail to open; Notion suggests unchecking subpage folders or using 7-Zip.

Facts we could verify

Each value links to the page it was read from and shows the date it was read. Not verified means we found no source we could confirm.

Facts we could verify
ProductsFree planOpen source (license)Self-hostedPlatformsImport from Notion
AnytypeYesSourcePartly (Any Source Available License 1.0 (source available, not OSI-approved; non-commercial or allowed-network use))SourceNot verifiediOS apps, Open-source releases, Web appsNot verified
AppFlowyYesSourceYes (AGPL-3.0)SourceYesSourceOpen-source releases, Web appsNot verified
BearNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiediOS apps, Web appsNot verified
CodaNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiediOS apps, Web appsNot verified
EvernoteYesSourceNot verifiedNot verifiediOS apps, Web appsNot verified
Google KeepNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiediOS apps, Web appsNot verified
JoplinYesSourceYes (AGPL-3.0-or-later (some subdirectories e.g. packages/server carry their own license))SourceYesSourceiOS apps, Open-source releases, Web appsNot verified
LogseqNot verifiedYes (AGPL-3.0)SourceNot verifiediOS apps, Open-source releases, Web appsNot verified
Microsoft OneNoteYesSourceNot verifiedNot verifiediOS apps, Web appsNot verified
NotesnookYesSourceYes (GPL-3.0)SourceNot verifiediOS apps, Open-source releases, Web appsNot verified
ObsidianNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiediOS apps, Open-source releasesNot verified
RemNoteYesSourceNot verifiedNot verifiediOS apps, Web appsNot verified
Standard NotesYesSourceYes (AGPL-3.0)SourceNot verifiediOS apps, Open-source releases, Web appsNot verified

Free and open-source options

Built only from facts verified above. A product missing from a list is not verified for it, which is not the same as no.

Facts not yet reviewed by a named editor

Platforms and pricing

Store-reported platforms and price labels. Pricing is shown only where a store supplied it.

Platforms and pricing
ProductsPlatformsPrice (store label)Store data checked
Notion This productiOS apps, Chrome extensionsFreeOct 17, 2026
AnytypeiOS apps, Open-source releases, Web appsFreeOct 17, 2026
AppFlowyOpen-source releases, Web appsUnavailableOct 17, 2026
BeariOS apps, Web appsFreeOct 17, 2026
CodaiOS apps, Web appsFreeOct 17, 2026
EvernoteiOS apps, Web appsFreeOct 17, 2026
Google KeepiOS apps, Web appsFreeOct 17, 2026
JopliniOS apps, Open-source releases, Web appsFreeOct 17, 2026
LogseqiOS apps, Open-source releases, Web appsFreeOct 17, 2026
Microsoft OneNoteiOS apps, Web appsFreeOct 17, 2026
NotesnookiOS apps, Open-source releases, Web appsFreeOct 17, 2026
ObsidianiOS apps, Open-source releasesFreeOct 17, 2026
RemNoteiOS apps, Web appsFreeOct 17, 2026
Standard NotesiOS apps, Open-source releases, Web appsFreeOct 17, 2026

Alternatives

  • Anytype

    Local-first, encrypted workspace app for notes, objects and shared spaces.

    iOS appsOpen-source releasesWeb apps

    Price (store label): Free

    Same category. Not ranked or scored.

  • AppFlowy

    Open-source collaborative workspace positioned as a self-hostable alternative to Notion.

    Open-source releasesWeb apps

    Price (store label): Unavailable

    Same category. Not ranked or scored.

  • Bear

    Markdown note-taking app for Apple devices.

    iOS appsWeb apps

    Price (store label): Free

    Same category. Not ranked or scored.

  • Coda

    Document and workspace tool; the app is now listed on the App Store as Superhuman Docs.

    iOS appsWeb apps

    Price (store label): Free

    Same category. Not ranked or scored.

  • Evernote

    Note and notebook app with web clipper, tasks, calendar and AI features, sold in tiered plans.

    iOS appsWeb apps

    Price (store label): Free

    Same category. Not ranked or scored.

  • Google Keep

    Google's lightweight notes and lists app tied to a Google account.

    iOS appsWeb apps

    Price (store label): Free

    Same category. Not ranked or scored.

  • Joplin

    Open-source note-taking app that syncs through Joplin Cloud, Dropbox, OneDrive and others.

    iOS appsOpen-source releasesWeb apps

    Price (store label): Free

    Same category. Not ranked or scored.

  • Logseq

    Open-source outliner and knowledge base that stores notes locally.

    iOS appsOpen-source releasesWeb apps

    Price (store label): Free

    Same category. Not ranked or scored.

  • Microsoft OneNote

    Microsoft's notebook app for free-form notes, available across Microsoft 365 and mobile.

    iOS appsWeb apps

    Price (store label): Free

    Same category. Not ranked or scored.

  • Notesnook

    End-to-end encrypted notes app with unlimited free notes and paid storage tiers.

    iOS appsOpen-source releasesWeb apps

    Price (store label): Free

    Same category. Not ranked or scored.

  • Obsidian

    Local-first Markdown notes with backlinks and a large plugin ecosystem.

    iOS appsOpen-source releases

    Price (store label): Free

    Same category. Not ranked or scored.

    Notion vs Obsidian
  • RemNote

    Note-taking app that builds flashcards from notes, with PDF annotation, exam scheduling and AI credits.

    iOS appsWeb apps

    Price (store label): Free

    Same category. Not ranked or scored.

  • Standard Notes

    End-to-end encrypted note app with free plain-text notes and paid editors.

    iOS appsOpen-source releasesWeb apps

    Price (store label): Free

    Same category. Not ranked or scored.

Questions people ask

What is the best open-source alternative to Notion?

From the options read here, AppFlowy is the closest in shape and is AGPL-3.0 licensed with a self-hosted route; Logseq and Joplin are open source but work as outliner and notebook tools.[8][9][16]

Is there a free Notion alternative?

Obsidian is free for any use, Joplin's apps are free with paid optional sync, and AppFlowy and Anytype both have free tiers. Notion itself has a Free plan with a 5 MB per-file upload limit and 10 guests.[1][5][8][10][12]

Can Notion import from other note apps?

Its import page lists Evernote, Markdown and text, CSV, HTML, Word, Google Docs and Confluence. It does not mention OneNote or Obsidian, and CSV imports cannot create rollups, formulas or relations.[3]

Does Notion work offline?

Partly. Offline pages work in the desktop and mobile apps only, databases download only their first 50 rows, and advanced blocks need a connection.[4]

Will my Notion databases survive an export?

Databases export as CSV for a single view, and Notion's export page does not say how relations, formulas or rollups are represented. Obsidian's API importer converts databases to Bases but imports only the primary view.[2][6]

How this guide was made

This is a desk-research draft built from vendor pages, help centres and GitHub repository metadata read on 13 October 2026. No product was installed or used, so usability, speed and mobile quality are not assessed.

Alternatives were chosen for distinct needs (offline, open source, self-hosting, team tables, outliner, classic notebook), not ranked. Where a page did not state a fact, the cell says Not verified rather than filling a gap.

Nobody has used these products for this guide. It contains no ratings, scores or rankings by score.

Sources

Numbers in square brackets point here. Each page was opened on the date shown.

  1. [1]
    Notion pricing

    Published by Notion Labs.

    https://www.notion.com/pricing

  2. [2]
    Export your content

    Published by Notion Labs.

    https://www.notion.com/help/export-your-content

  3. [3]
    Import data into Notion

    Published by Notion Labs.

    https://www.notion.com/help/import-data-into-notion

  4. [4]
    Use Notion pages offline

    Published by Notion Labs.

    https://www.notion.com/help/use-pages-offline

  5. [5]
    Obsidian pricing

    Published by Obsidian.

    https://obsidian.md/pricing

  6. [6]
    Import from Notion

    Published by Obsidian.

    https://obsidian.md/help/import/notion

  7. [7]
    Obsidian license overview

    Published by Obsidian.

    https://obsidian.md/license

  8. [8]
    AppFlowy pricing

    Published by AppFlowy.

    https://appflowy.com/pricing

  9. [9]
    AppFlowy repository metadata

    Published by GitHub.

    https://api.github.com/repos/AppFlowy-IO/AppFlowy

  10. [10]
    Anytype pricing

    Published by Anytype.

    https://anytype.io/pricing

  11. [11]
    Coda home page

    Published by Coda (Superhuman Docs).

    https://coda.io/

  12. [12]
    Joplin plans

    Published by Joplin.

    https://joplinapp.org/plans/

  13. [13]
    Joplin import and export

    Published by Joplin.

    https://joplinapp.org/help/apps/import_export

  14. [14]
    Logseq home page

    Published by Logseq.

    https://logseq.com/

  15. [15]
    Joplin repository metadata

    Published by GitHub.

    https://api.github.com/repos/laurent22/joplin

  16. [16]
    Logseq repository metadata

    Published by GitHub.

    https://api.github.com/repos/logseq/logseq

Limits of this page

  • Alternatives are products in the same category that pass our launch checks. The list is alphabetical, not a ranking.
  • A product missing here may still be a good fit; it may simply not be reviewed yet.
  • Store price labels can change at any time; check the store before you buy.

Pages

Directory submission (not open yet)
Discover products
Packages (not open yet)
Submission status

Platforms

Chrome extensions
iOS apps
Open-source releases
Web apps

Categories

API Clients
Backend as a Service
Developer browser extensions
Email and newsletter platforms
Flashcard apps
Form builders
Hosting and Deploy Platforms
Note-taking apps
Password managers
Project management tools
Scheduling tools
Workflow Automation

↑ ↓ to move, Enter to open, Esc to close. Matches names, synonyms and publishers as typed.